Ohanaeze Ndigbo gets new leadership

The Lagos State chapter of the Ohanaeze Ndigbo has elected new leadership.

The Igbo apex socio-cultural group successfully conducted its election with Chief Solomon Ogbonna emerging as president.

The election also saw Chief Vitus Uzor emerge as deputy president.

The election was conducted by the local organising committee headed by Agunze Ikokwu, and supervised by DIG Hillary Okpara (retd)-led committee.

The delegates were royal fathers, Aka Ikenga, Ndigbo Lagos, market leaders and other affiliate bodies who exercised their franchise to elect new leaders.

The new leaders will be in charge of the group for the next four years.

Speaking after the election, Okpara said “the large turnout during the poll showed that peace has returned to the Lagos chapter of Ohanaeze.”

He charged the new executive to reach out to others, who lost out in the exercise, while describing the successful conduct of the election as “victory for all.”

The elected officials are, Chief Damian Okoye (treasurer), Chief Emma Ekwelibe (vice president Abia); Vine Osakwe (vice president Anambra); Chucks Smith, (vice president) and Mrs. Violet Uche Obiora (woman leader).

Others are, Everest Ozonweke (secretary general) and Thompson Ohia (ex-officio, Imo).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Next Post

FA apologise after mocking Kane with Smalling tweet

Tue Apr 24 , 2018
The official twitter account of the FA Cup posted a jab at the Spurs striker after he failed to score against Manchester United in the semi-final The Football Association has apologised for a tweet that mocked Harry Kane after Tottenham’s 2-1 loss to Manchester United in the FA Cup semi-final. […]