The Countries Ghanaians Can Travel to Without Visa [Updated List]

Would you like to know the visa-free countries for Ghanaians? Then read this prepared list focused on the countries Ghanaians can travel to without a visa.

In a beautiful world with countries that require visas, satisfying our passion for travel can be quite intimidating.

At some point in 2015, the Ghanaian passport was ranked 52nd in the 2015 World Passport Index. However, things changed and a new ranking by the Henley Passport Index (as of January 1, 2018) saw the Ghanaian passport move to position 73, sitting in the same place with the Dominican Republic and Sierra Leone Passport in terms of freedom of travel.

The Countries Ghanaians Can Travel to Without Visa [Updated List]

The Henley & Partners Passport Index, formerly known as the Henley & Partners Passport Index until 2018, is a global ranking of countries based on the freedom of travel enjoyed by its citizens.

Since 2006, Henley & Partners has been analyzing visa regulations for all countries and territories in the world in collaboration with the International Air Transport Association based on official data from its global database.

The truth is that the Ghanaian passport may not be as powerful as the US and UK passports or even grant Ghanaians free entry to countries, but it is one of the most respected passports in Africa.

There are many really good countries Ghanaians can travel to without a visa. As usual, the terms and conditions apply. Free entry passes to a country can change over time, so it is essential to constantly stay in touch with visa procedures.

In addition, some of these countries only grant free funds when the intention of a traveler is leisure. Therefore, if you plan to take advantage of the visa-free status to get a job there, you may want to apply for the proper visa.

Countries Ghanaians Can Travel to Without a Visa

As a member state of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), one of the benefits Ghana gains from its membership is in the area of ​​travel, as Ghanaian citizens are granted a free stay in any other member state of ECOWAS for 90 days.


  • Benin: 90-day visa not required
  • Burkina Faso: visa not required
  • Cape Verde: no visa required
  • Comoros visa on arrival
  • Ivory Coast 3 Month (s)
  • Djibouti visa on arrival
  • The Gambia: 90-day visa not required
  • Guinea: no visa required
  • Guinea-Bissau: 90-day visa not required
  • Kenya: 90-day visa not required
  • Liberia: no visa required
  • Madagascar: Visa on arrival for 90 days
  • Mali: no visa required
  • Mauritania: Visa on arrival
  • Mauritius: 90-day visa not required
  • Mozambique: Visa on arrival for 30 days
  • Niger: no visa required
  • Nigeria: no visa required
  • Rwanda: Visa on arrival
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal: 3 month visa not required
  • Seychelles: visitor’s permit on arrival for 3 months
  • Sierra Leone: no visa required
  • Swaziland: 30-day visa not required
  • Tanzania: 3 month visa is not required
  • Togo: no visa required
  • Uganda: 3 month visa not required
  • Zambia: 90-day arrival visa
  • Zimbabwe: 3 month visa not required


  • Barbados: 6-month free visa
  • Belize
  • Bolivia: visa on arrival for 90 days
  • The British Virgin Islands
  • Dominica: 6-month free visa
  • Ecuador: free visa for 90 days
  • Granada: visa is not required for 3 months
  • Haiti: 3 month visa is not required
  • Jamaica: no visa required
  • Montserrat: no visa required
  • Maldives: Visa on arrival for 30 days
  • Nicaragua: visa on arrival for 90 days
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis: visa is not required for 3 months
  • Saint Lucia: visa is not required for 6 weeks
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines: no visa is required for 30 days
  • Trinidad and Tobago: no visa required


  • Bangladesh: 3-month free visa
  • Cambodia: visa on arrival for 30 days
  • East Timor or Timor-Leste
  • Indonesia: 30-day visa not required
  • Iran: visa on arrival for 15 days
  • Philippines: 30-day visa is not required
  • Singapore: 30-day visa not required


  • Cook Islands: free visa for 31 days
  • Fiji: 4-month free visa
  • Micronesia: 30-day visa not required
  • Palau Visa on arrival – Free Visa for 30 days
  • Pitcairn Islands: visa is not required for 14 days
  • Samoa: 60-day entry permit upon arrival
  • Timor-Leste Visa on Arrival: Free 30-day Visa
  • Tuvalu: Visa on arrival for 1 month
  • Vanuatu: 30-day visa not required

Read Also: 10 Best Aviation Schools In Ghana

Disputed, dependent or restricted territories

  • Northern Cyprus: no visa required
  • Palestine: no visa required (arrival by sea in the Gaza Strip is not allowed)
  • South Ossetia: No visa required (multiple entry visas to Russia and three days prior notice required to enter South Ossetia)
  • Transnistria: no visa required (registration required after 24 hours)

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *